Emirates, Malaysia Airlines Increase Codeshare Routes


Following the introduction of the Emirates – Malaysia Air code share last February on the heels of Malaysian reaching a decision to discontinue most of its long haul flights to Europe on the back of its financial restructuring, Emirates and Malaysia Airlines are adding several new Malaysian routes to both carriers’ codeshare agreement.

Emirates Airlines will add its flight code on all its connecting flights via Kuala Lumpur to 15 Malaysian destinations. These include Langkawi, Penang, Johor Bahru, Kuching, Miri, Bintulu, Sibu, and Kota Kinabalu, Others are Sandakan, Tawau, Labuan, Alor Setar, Kota Bharu, Kuantan and Kuala Terengganu. The airlines equally signed a reciprocal deal to allow passengers accumulate and redeem frequent flyer miles on both airlines.  Emirates currently operate a trice daily B777 service on the Kuala Lumpur – Dubai route as well as a daily flight on the Airbus A380.
Thierry Antinori, Chief Commercial Officer, Emirates Airlines said, “The codeshare with Malaysia Airlines will provide more seamless travel options for our passengers to visit 15 cities in Malaysia and elsewhere in the region with a convenient connection in Kuala Lumpur. Reciprocally, travellers from the region will also benefit from an expanded network including 90 destinations spanning Europe, the Middle East, Africa, and the Americas.” 

About Author

Leave A Reply